top of page



The Lake Victoria Basin Commission (LVBC) is pleased to introduce the Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) Programme. The Programme is based on long-term cooperation between the East African Community (EAC), KfW Development Bank from Germany and the European Union (EU). The cooperation forms a corner stone for LVBC’s efforts to address the challenges which the Lake Victoria Basin is currently facing to protect the Lake and its water resources for the future benefit of communities living in the region.

The programme is implemented in close cooperation with the Partner States of the East African Community to ensure a shared programmatic approach, coordinated efforts and efficient execution of activities.

At LVBC we are committed to making the implementation of this outstanding programme a success. You are kindly invited to find further information on this website and to participate actively in  joint efforts to manage water resources of the Basin in a sustainable way



Dr. Matano

Former Executive Secretary


Lake Victoria Basin Integrated Water Resources Management Programme (LVB IWRMP)

The Programme is funded through grants by the European Union (EU) and the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany, provided via KfW Development Bank to the East African Community (EAC). The EAC has appointed the Lake Victoria Basin Commission as the Programme Executing Agency.

The total budget for the current phase of the project is € 38.9 million: € 30 million from Germany, € 8.9 million from the EU and a minimum of € 3 million as local contributions from the Partner States related to the High Priority Investments (HPIs). The HPIs are focused at reducing pollution of the Basin’s Water Resources through the management of liquid and solid wastes.

For the implementation of the Programme, LVBC has established the LVB IWRM Programme Coordination Unit (PCU). The preparation phase of the Programme was carried out from January to December 2016. The current phase of the Programme started in December 2019 and will end in February 2026.

Key figures Lake Victoria basin

Lake surface

68,870 sq. km

as big as Ireland

Basin covers

180,950 sq. km

Basin population
44,9 million

Three main transboundary river basins Kagara (Uganda, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania) Mara (Tanzania/Kenya) Sio-Malaba (Kenya/Uganda)

bottom of page