top of page


Partner State Institutions

The order of the Partner States is alphabetical. Given the regional approach of the Programme, the following IWRM institutions in the Partner States have been tentatively identified as Programme Partners: 

  1. Burundi: Ministry of Environment, Agriculture& Livestock
    - Ministry of Hydraulics, Energy and Mines
    Geographic Institute of Burundi


  2. Kenya: Ministry of Water, Sanitation and Irrigation
    Water Resources Authority (WRA)
    - WRA-Lake Victoria South Basin Office
    - Lake Victoria South Water Works Development Authority (LVSWWDA)
    - Kisumu Water and Sewerage Company (Kiwasco)


  3. Rwanda: Ministry of Infrastructure & Ministry of Environment
    Rwanda Water Resources Board (WRB)
    - Rwanda Environmental Management Authority (REMA)
    - Water Supply and Sanitation Corporation (WASAC)
    - City of Kigali


  4. Tanzania: Ministry of Water
    Water Supply and Sanitation Authority Mwanza (MWAUWASA)
    - Lake Victoria Basin Water Board (LVBWB), Mwanza


  5. Uganda: Ministry of Water & Environment (MWE) 
    MWE-Directorate of Water Resources Management (DWRM)
    - MWE-Directorate of Water Development (DWD)
    - MWE-Directorate of Environmental Affairs (DEA)
    - National Water and Sewage Corporation (NWSC)
    - Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA)


There are currently 4 National Project Executing Agencies (NPEA) who will be responsible for the implementation of the HPIs other than the above mentioned IWRM Programme Partners. More NPEAs will be identified in the process of developing the project pipeline. 

 Regional Institutions

The Nile Basin Initiative (NBI) is an intergovernmental partnership of 10 Nile Basin countries: Burundi, DR Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, The Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. Eritrea participates as an observer. It aims to provide a forum for consultation and coordination among the Basin States for the sustainable management and development of the shared Nile Basin water and related resources for win-win benefits.

With Lake Victoria as source of the Nile River, the Lake Victoria Basin is part of the Nile Basin and the five Partner States of LVBC are also members of NBI. In October 2020 the Executive Secretary of LVBC and the Executive Director of NBI agreed on enhanced cooperation, which would focus first on joint use of the Nile Basin Decision Support System (NB DSS) and data management. Further cooperation within the framework of the LVB IWRM Programme will be actively pursued.

Development Partners

The Programme is Co-funded by the German Development Cooperation, the European Union and the Lake Victoria Partner States and is implemented by KfW.


Jeramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (JOOUST) in Bondo, Kisumu, Kenya.
JOOUST university:

bottom of page